Australian Wildlife Society Research Conservation Awards

Australian Wildlife Society Research Conservation Awards

Australian Wildlife Society Research Conservation Awards

The Australian Wildlife Society Research Conservation Awards is open to students registered with Master of Philosophy or Doctor of Philosophy degrees who are undertaking a research project in the Hunter Valley Region. The research project must have direct applicability to the conservation of Australia’s native wildlife. (Flora or fauna). In this article, we will be discussing the scholarship, its worth, its eligibility, and the application process.

The University of Newcastle is a public university in Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia. Founded in 1965, it has a primary campus in the Newcastle suburb of Callaghan. The university also runs campuses in Ourimbah, Port Macquarie, Singapore, Newcastle CBD, and Sydney CBD.


The earlier origins of the present-day University of Newcastle can be outlined in the Newcastle Teachers College (established 1949) and Newcastle University College (NUC, established 1951). NUC was developed as an offshoot of the New South Wales University of Technology (now known as the University of New South Wales) and was co-located with the Newcastle Technical College at Tighes Hill. At the time of its establishment, NUC had just five full-time students, and the study was limited to engineering, mathematics, and science.


Throughout the 1950s and 1960s, Newcastle residents campaigned for NUC to be re-constituted as a university in its own right. The campaign was eventually successful, with the University of Newcastle being appointed as an autonomous institution on 1 January 1965 by gubernatorial proclamation under the University of Newcastle Act 1964 (NSW). The new university was given a heraldic coat of arms by the College of Arms in London, an event seen by many in the community as signifying the new institution’s independence. In 1966, the University migrated from Tighes Hill to a largely unstructured bushland site in Shortland.

In 2019, the university had a total enrolment of 37,946 students, including over 7,000 international students from more than 113 countries.

The university is recognized for its dedication to equity in education, and unfailingly enrolls more students of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander backgrounds than any other Australian university. It has graduated more than 60% of the nation’s indigenous doctors.

From 2016-to 2020 students of the university were defined by the Newcastle University Students’ Association (NUSA), Yourimbah, and Newcastle University Postgraduate Students’ Association (NUPSA); In 2020 these three individual entities discontinued functions and connected to form a single student association known as University of Newcastle Student’s Association (UNSA).

The University of Newcastle library is made up of three libraries across three campuses. They contain the Auchmuty, Ourimbah, and Newcastle City campus libraries. The largest of these is the Auchmuty library on the Callaghan campus, which holds a significant traditional collection, including rare books and archives. Auchmuty holds a broad collection of helping several schools, including education, nursing, and fine arts. The Ourimbah library on the Central Coast campus holds a collection of both university and TAFE texts to facilitate the needs of the joint campus.


The University of Newcastle will provide a once-off lump sum payment of $5,000 to the high-performing students. The award benefit and number of awards may vary and will be selected by the funding available each year.

People Also Like:

Eligibility for the Australian Wildlife Society Research Conservation Awards

  • Applicants for the Australian Wildlife Society Research Conservation Awards must be registered with a Master of Philosophy or Doctor of Philosophy degree at the University of Newcastle;
  • Applicant must currently reside in Australia;
  • Applicants must have completed confirmation by the application closing date;
  • Have a research topic in the area of Australian wildlife (flora & fauna) conservation;
  • Candidates for the Australian Wildlife Society Research Conservation Awards must be undertaking their research in one of the following Hunter Valley Local Government Areas (LGA’S): – City of Lake Macquarie – City of Newcastle – City of Maitland – City of Cessnock – Mid-Coast Council – Port Stephens Council – Singleton Council – Muswellbrook Shire – Upper Hunter Shire – Dungog Shire

Submit the application and needed documentation no later than the application closing date.

How to Apply for the Australian Wildlife Society Research Conservation Awards

Kindly check the Australian Wildlife Society Research Conservation Award Conditions before applying. As part of your application, you will need to deliver:

A cover letter that contains the following details:

– a program that you are registered in

– candidature start and end date

– confirmation completion date

– a summary of your research and an explanation of how you meet the eligibility criteria;

and A Curriculum Vitae

The application deadline for this scholarship is June 3, 2023.


Official Scholarship Website

Disclaimer: This is NOT the official scholarship page. This is only a one-page summarized listing of the scholarship. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct.

Leave a Reply